Crossrail announces Design Framework Agreements

12 Dec 2008 (provided by Modern Railways), Category: Modelling

On 9 December, Crossrail announced the 12 firms who have secured Design Framework Agreements. The chosen firms will have the opportunity to compete for packages of design work on the Crossrail project, including work on tunnels and shafts, stations, and railway systems. The successful bidders are: Aedas Group Ltd, Atkins Ltd, BDP Ltd, Capita Symonds Ltd, Halcrow Group Ltd, Hyder Consulting (UK) Ltd, Jacobs Engineering U.K. Ltd, Mott MacDonald Ltd, Ove Arup & Partners International Ltd, Parsons Brinckerhoff Ltd, Scott Wilson Railways Ltd, and WSP UK Ltd.

The frameworks will run until the completion of the Crossrail scheme.

This is another important step forward in the delivery of Crossrail following parliamentary approval in July 2008. In early December a deal
worth up to £350million was finalised with the City of London Corporation. Andrew Adonis, Transport Minister, and Boris Johnson, Mayor of London, also announced the signing of a series of core funding and governance agreements that will underpin the project. As these agreements have now been signed, Cross London Rail Links Ltd, Crossrail's delivery company, became a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London on 5 December 2008.

Commenting on the Design Framework Agreements, Dr Graham Plant, Programme Director at Crossrail said: “the funding for Crossrail is secure, the necessary agreements have been signed and all partners are committed to delivery. This means that Crossrail can now move full-speed ahead towards the start of the main construction in 2010. It is clear that Crossrail has excited the construction industry and we look forward to working with the selected Design Framework Agreement companies as we drive forward the design work for this world-class railway.”

< Back